Panorama Museum Salzburg...

Magnificent views - the giant panorama in the heart of the old town Johann Michael Sattler's 26-metre-long and 5-metre-high circular painting of the city of Salzburg and its surroundings from around 1829 is today one of the most valuable objects in the Salzburg Museum collection.

Johann Michael Sattler (1786-1847) created this painting together with his fellow painters Friedrich Loos and Johann Jakob Schindler. With them he travelled through Europe from 1829 to 1839, visiting cities such as Hamburg, Oslo, Amsterdam, Brussels, Paris, Copenhagen and Brno. Today he is considered Salzburg's first tourism promoter. A special feature of the panorama is the detailed depiction of the daily life of the citizens of 200 years ago. If you look closely, you can see a multitude of people with different professions and occupations, engaged in all kinds of activities.

The panoramic view of the city from the Hohensalzburg Fortress thrills residents and visitors alike, then and now.

Special exhibitions on the history of Salzburg The special exhibitions deal with the ever-changing aspects of the architecture and landscape of the city and province of Salzburg. To complete the 360° view of Salzburg, Johann Michael Sattler and his son Hubert Sattler created pictures with views of cities and natural wonders from all over the world. These images, called cosmoramas, allowed the public to see places that were inaccessible to them up close. The cosmoramas are presented in special exhibitions in combination with the Salzburg Panorama.

Map

Gallery

Suitable

  • Good weather
  • Bad weather
  • Barrier-free
  • Winter
  • Summer
  • Familyfriendly

Tags

Contact

Panorama Museum Salzburg...
Salzburg
5010, Residenzplatz 9
  • Visit website
Other trips
Floor mosaic
Salzburg Cathedral Excavation Museum

Salzburg Cathedral excavation museum

Großsoelk Castle
Nature Park House Großsölk Castle

Nature Park House Großsölk Castle

Old tractor in the farm museum
Farm Museum Oberhof Filzmoos

Farm museum Oberhof Filzmoos

Celtic Village at Steinbichl Uttendorf Salzburg
Celtic Village at Steinbichl Uttendorf

Celtic village Uttendorf Salzburg

Marionette Museum Salzburg
Marionette Museum Salzburg

World of Marionettes Salzburg

Panorama Museum Salzburg

Prächtige Aussichten - das Riesenpanorama im Herzen der Altstadt Johann Michael Sattlers 26 Meter langes und 5 Meter hohes Rundgemälde der Stadt Salzburg und ihrer Umgebung aus der Zeit um 1829 zählt heute zu den wertvollsten Objekten der Sammlung des Salzburg Museums.

Johann Michael Sattler (1786-1847) schuf dieses Gemälde zusammen mit seinen Malerkollegen Friedrich Loos und Johann Jakob Schindler. Mit ihr reiste er von 1829 bis 1839 durch Europa und besuchte Städte wie Hamburg, Oslo, Amsterdam, Brüssel, Paris, Kopenhagen und Brünn. Heute gilt er als Salzburgs erster Tourismuswerber. Eine Besonderheit des Panoramas ist die detailgetreue Darstellung des täglichen Lebens der Bürger von vor 200 Jahren. Wenn man genau hinsieht, sieht man eine Vielzahl von Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Berufen und Beschäftigungen, die allen möglichen Tätigkeiten nachgehen.

Der Panoramablick von der Festung Hohensalzburg auf die Stadt begeistert damals wie heute Einwohner und Besucher gleichermaßen.

Sonderausstellungen zur Geschichte Salzburgs Die Sonderausstellungen befassen sich mit den immer wieder neuen Aspekten der Architektur und Landschaft von Stadt und Land Salzburg. Zur Vervollständigung der 360°-Ansicht von Salzburg schufen Johann Michael Sattler und sein Sohn Hubert Sattler Bilder mit Ansichten von Städten und Naturwundern aus aller Welt. Diese Bilder, Kosmoramen genannt, ermöglichten es dem Publikum, Orte, die für sie unzugänglich waren, aus der Nähe zu sehen. Die Kosmoramen werden in Sonderausstellungen in Kombination mit dem Salzburg Panorama präsentiert.

Karte

Galerie

Profile

  • Schönwetter
  • Schlechtwetter
  • Barrierefrei
  • Winter
  • Sommer
  • Familienfreundlich

Themen

Kontakt

Panorama Museum Salzburg
Salzburg
5010, Residenzplatz 9
  • Website besuchen
Ähnliche Ausflugsziele
Exponate im Oldtimermuseum Kaprun
Vötters Fahrzeugmuseum Kaprun

Vötters Fahrzeugmuseum Kaprun

Altes Bauernhaus im Freilichtmuseum Salzburg
Salzburger Freilichtmuseum Großgmain

Freilichtmuseum Salzburg Österreich

Das Heimatmuseum mit Darstellung der alten Kunst des Schuhemachens
Heimatmuseum Schloss Lerchen Radstadt

Heimatmuseum Schloss Lerchen Radstadt

Prunkraum Residenz Weisser Saal
Prunkräume Residenz Salzburg

Die Prunkräume in der Residenz Salzburg

Die evangelische Kirche in Ramsau am Dachstein
Museum Zeitroas Ramsau am Dachstein

Museum Zeitroas Ramsau am Dachstein